A South African Muslimah's Blog

Constructing Identity: Loud Whispers, Lasting Echoes

Time, my friend, my foe. August 3, 2008

Filed under: Life,Time — Safiyyah @ 10:22 pm

The human heart is such, that it yearns for what far from reach.
I am on a visit to my family, having left my husband back in the Middle East…
For many months, I pined for my family, and could not wait to get onto the plane that would carry me to them.
Now that I’m here, I cant help but wait to return …
I am a contradiction of myself!

So, what is it that makes us constantly think, “the grass is greener on the other side”? Why is the unknown so appealling? Why are we not content to be just as we are…
Yes, strive we must, for the cause of Allah, for our livelihoods, for justice and for peace… but to aimlessly wish for the “whens” and “ifs” of life, is to sqaunder Time, that precious entity that we keeping saying we have none of, yet live as if we have enough to spare, as it is said, “What would be the use of immortality to a person who cannot use well a half an hour?”

We seem to be in constant battle with Time, our weapons are locked, yet neither seems to weild that fatal blow for a while, until one day, Time launches the deadly assualt, and we realize that we had the strength all along, we just did not harness it, by being comfortable at just keeping the enemy at bay.

Even my own description above alarms me, because Time shouldn’t be my enemy! Allah Almighty says that everything is, for its “appointed Time”. This means, that no person is given less than he/she needs, no matter how short life can be, Allah has not short-changed us with Time!

It is Time to befriend Time, to realize, that by wasting it, we are wasting Life, for what is Life, if not Time?
Imam Ali (ra) in his understanding of Time, wisely said, ” Time wears out bodies, renews hopes, brings death nearer and takes away aspirations. Whoever gets anything from the world lives in anxiety for holding it and whoever loses anything passes his days grieving over the loss.”

 

One Response to “Time, my friend, my foe.”

  1. Khadija Says:

    I really enjoyed this post Safs! So relevant to me especially. Love the quotation, have written it on a sticky and stuck it on my mirror, replacing my own motivation: I will read and I will write. I will learn and my time I will spend well. And then, with a smile, will I reach the other realm.


Leave a Reply

