A South African Muslimah's Blog

Constructing Identity: Loud Whispers, Lasting Echoes

Getting back into my groove February 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Safiyyah @ 8:38 pm

I haven’t blogged in ages!!
So much has happened… We’ve officially left Dubai, and relocated back to South Africa…home sweet home! And yet there’s so much I already miss about Dubai… the safety, grocery shopping at midnight, the creek, coffee mornings, meeting someone new from somewhere exotic every day, my car, the anonymity, affordable and gorgeous hijab fashion, all food being halal, toilets equipped with sprays,and did I mention safety?

In between leaving Dubai and moving back to SA, hubby and I fulfilled one of our many dreams, Alhamdulillah.. we visited Iran. Two great weeks in one of the most enchanting, but misunderstood countries in the world has left me craving for more things Iranian! The food, architecture and most of all, the people, were so special and so inviting, that I really didn’t feel like leaving, until the Tehran pollution caught my throat that is.

We were invited into many a home, and also experienced Iranian national day, when millions of people take to the streets in Tehran, to support the Islamic revolution and the Islamic republic. The president, Mahmoud Ahmedinajad addressed the nation, and leaders from Islamic Jihad and Hamas also gave speeches. It was all in all a very exhilarating day, the crown throbbing with a fervent love for Islam. I promise more stories of Iran to follow soon, Insha-allah!

Now that I’m back, there is so much to do, so much to get involved in. In that way, its great to home, to be part of a wider, more active community, with the freedom to contribute socially, politically and economically! Elections are coming up soon, and it will my first time to cast a ballot, I am very excited!

Pray that all goes well for hubby and I, in our endeavours. Here are some pictures from the Iran trip, but I must add that none do justice to the true splendour of the country.










 

2 Responses to “Getting back into my groove”

  1. Nooj Says:

    gorgeous pics
    i pray that ur endeavours will always be filled with adventure and purpose 🙂

  2. Princess Says:

    Inshallah all that you strive for will come true, Aameen


Leave a Reply

